Fiction Friday

I read a lot. Ok, so I’m a Librarian so that does kind of go with the territory. But even so. I do read a lot. I have shelves piled with books that I’ve read. Um, and shelves piled with books that I’ve yet to get round to reading but really fancied the look of when I bought them, and I WILL read them soon. When I’ve finished the book I’m reading at the moment. Or possibly the one after that.

So many books, so little time.

So I thought it might be a good idea to hold myself to account a little, and actually chronicle (as it were) some of the volumes I’m getting through. To share the highs and lows a bit. I’ve always avoided the Book Club scenario as the very idea gives me flashbacks to torturous Eng Lit A level classes, plus I have a lengthy list of my own “need to reads” without factoring other people’s choices in there too. But it is nice to share views on books and this seems like a good vehicle to do that (hello Jean)

So without further ado

This week I have mostly been reading

20130920-173335.jpg

This is just brilliant.

When I first saw this book in Waterstones, I read the blurb, which described it as a Harry Potter for grown-ups, and that put me right off. A year or so later and it turned up in The Works (3 volumes for a fiver, how could I resist?) and I thought I’d give it a go. Reader, I was pleasantly surprised. Yes it’s a detective story, yes it’s got magic in it, but not your wand waving pointy hat wearing type of magic, no sirreee. And thank goodness for that. The plot is tight and well developed (and you may find yourself feeling slightly apprehensive if you travel on the London Underground after reading this book) The characters are memorable and believable.
And I believe the author must share my distrust of Punch and Judy.

Aaronovitch has written for Dr Who and you can sort of see that in the pace, wit and fast plot development of this story; but this story remains grounded. Magical realism at its best.

Next week I will be reading

20130920-173249.jpg

I really enjoyed Miss Garnets Angel, so I’m looking forward to starting this new paperback by Sally Vickers. Never mind that the dodgy cover makes it look like a Mills and Boon – I have high hopes for this one.

2 thoughts on “Fiction Friday

Leave a Reply

