Windfall

We don’t have an apple tree in our garden. But we know someone who does šŸ™‚

So I am now the proud owner of a large carrier bag full of Bramley apples.

I love apple crumble, and I love apple pie, but I was in the mood for trying something a bit different.
I wanted … cookies

Why is it that you can find just about every flavour cookie under the sun but you rarely see apple featuring?

Mmmm, moist chewy apple cookie with a hint of cinnamon spice.

‘Scuse me whilst I drool a while.

I combined sugar and butter with peeled, cored, chopped and cooked Bramley.

20131210-200653.jpg

Added flour, bicarbonate of soda, and baking powder

20131210-200751.jpg

Dolloped it onto a greased baking tray

20131210-200831.jpg

Baked at gas 5 for 15 mins and got

20131210-200907.jpg

Cow pats.

Again.

And not even nice tasting cow pats (did I really just write that?)

You know those pan scourers with sponge an one side and tough matted fibrous stuff on the other? Imagine a cold, damp, flattened one of those and you come close to the experience of eating these cookies.

On the plus side I may have just invented the first dessert to also scale and polish your teeth.

And now I know why you rarely get apple cookies.

Leave a Reply

