Fiction Friday

I write this, a broken woman.

Literally.

Today was my first yoga class. Ever.

And given the fact that I may never move again, it may well be my last.

I’m sure the premise when I signed up was that I would become lithe and bendy, rather than stiff and creaky.

No mention was made of total body paralysis. I would have noticed.

Probably.

There was one point, I’m not sure when exactly as it has all become a blur of creaking, groaning and pain, but there was definitely one point when the instructor blithely hooked his leg over his shoulder. Yes, at that point a whimper definitely escaped me.

They’ve named a new yoga position after me.

It’s called the dying dog.

Can’t wait for next week’s lesson. 🙂

This week I have mostly been reading

20140117-221133.jpg

What can I say? This was a gripping, uncomfortable read. The basic story is that of Solomon Northup, a free black man who lived in New York and was tricked into travelling south to Washington where he was kidnapped and enslaved. The beatings, cruelty and hardships he endured make excruciating reading but the narrative is told in such a matter of fact way that the reader escapes those icky feelings of voyeurism which stop me, at any rate, from reading some of the more brutal literature which seems to be en vogue nowadays.
If there is a criticism, it is that the style and tone of the narrative didn’t ring quite true. I can’t claim to be any great expert on the vernacular of the time, but the voice that comes over is certainly more that of a well educated, middle class, white, male. Reading a little about the background to the book, it seems it was an “as told to” ghost written publication, and given the level of editing that I guess went into producing the narrative as it stands, it does make you wonder what elements of the story itself were edited to make it tie in with the ghost writers agenda.

That said, it is still a good read, on an evil subject.

Next Week I Shall Mostly Be Reading

20140117-222709.jpg

The blurb on Amazon describes it as “A haunting Victorian ghost story of love, loss and the mystery of death from the bestselling author of THE THIRTEENTH TALE.”

Sounds just my cup of tea.

Leave a Reply

