Fiction Friday

No yoga today, as I do feel that dragging two children along to the class might be slightly frowned upon.

I have, however, ordered a yoga DVD, which I am looking forward to watching whilst curled up on the sofa with a nice cup of tea.

I feel bendier already šŸ™‚

This Week I Have Mostly Been Reading

20140221-084506.jpg

Well, it took me a while but I got there in the end.

This is a good book. The writing is beautifully crafted, the characters are well developed with an attention to detail that may be verging on the obsessive.

I remember sitting in a cafe last year, shamelessly eavesdropping on a conversation at the next table where one of the women was saying “but my dears, since I read Hilary Mantel I have been ruined for reading anything else, ruined. The writing is just so superb”

I wouldn’t go so far, but I can recognise A list writing when I read it šŸ™‚

My only, very minor, criticism would be that I didn’t find the story in Bring Up The Bodies as compelling as that of Wolf Hall. That may be because she is describing a court and a King who were becoming more jaded and that is reflected in the writing? A feeling almost of weariness throughout much of the book, that meant I didn’t feel that compunction to sit up reading well into the night gripped by the story.

Read it and feel worthy šŸ™‚

Next Week I Shall Be Reading

20140221-085758.jpg

A re-telling of stories from Norse Mythology by the author of Chocolat? That’s got to be intriguing. Right?

Leave a Reply

