Fiction Friday(only a bit late…)

Yoga yesterday. Towards the end of the session the teacher said we would try a bit of Pranayama. I thought this would be a new variation on the different forms of torture we go through each week.

It was torture but of a completely different kind.

The Pranayama we tried involved alternate nostril breathing.

So you hold one nostril closed and breath, deeply, in and out of the other. Then you swap nostrils.

If I’d known, I would have brought a hankie.

šŸ™‚

This Week I Have Mostly Been Reading

20140308-071315.jpg

I have gone through 45 years in ignorance of the character Loki and then he is mentioned in two books on the trot.

Strange.

Anyway, The Woodcutter.

I thought this was going to be a bit rubbish when I started it.

It isn’t great literature.

But you know what? I enjoyed this. It rattles along at a fair old pace. The character of the Woodcutter grows on you, the story line of murder and mayhem in the 12(13) Fairytale kingdoms, whilst preposterous, is still good fun.

And as someone who grew up reading Grimm as well as the red/green/orange (etc etc etc) fairy tale collections of Andrew Lang it was a fab geeky trainspotter challenge to spot the characters and stories from traditional folk tales.

I know. Each to their own. šŸ™‚

Next Week I Shall Mostly Be Reading

20140308-072618.jpg

Murder mystery featuring a forensic archaeologist.

What’s not to love?

Leave a Reply

